Evelyn Lou Forrister Colbaugh

Evelyn Lou Forrister Colbaugh

This is my mom Evelyn Colbaugh and she is at a nursing home in Liburn, Georgia. Mom was born in Michigan but spent almost all of her life in Georgia. Specifically in Esom Hill and Cedartown in Polk County. Many of her family lived in Alabama and right along the Polk county line. My Mom lived through the depression like my father.

Here is her obituary

Evelyn Colbaugh

Died June 14, 2007, Evelyn Colbaugh, 77, of Lawrenceville died Thursday. Complete arrangements will be announced by Flanigan Funeral Home, Buford. The Times, Gainesville, Ga., June 16, 2007

http://archive.gainesvilletimes.com/news/stories/20070616/obituaries/179679.shtml

Evelyn Colbaugh, age 77, of Lawrenceville, GA, passed away June 14, 2007. Service and Arrangements will be announced later by Junior E. Flanigan of Flanigan Funeral Home and Crematory of Buford, GA, 770-932-1133, http://www.flaniganfuneralhome.com.

From the Gwinnett Daily Post

She was born May 4, 1930, My birth certificate indicates she was at the age of 39 when she had me on June the 14th, 1969. It also indicates she was born in Alabama but she told me she was born in Michigan. My sister Janice was born in Cleburne County Alabama. Her first husbands name was Joe Porter but he was killed in a hit and run accident. My told told me Joe would get drunk and  abuse her. Her relationship was pretty rough.

birth

birthrec

pair

This is a slightly older picture of my mom and dad. I take after my mom more with her hair. She took on caring for my nieces and nephews. not all pictured but there was me, Jeff, Amy and Jamette. The year I was born and the place where my mom and dad met was at 743 Ponce De Leon Apartment 5, Atlanta, Ga. 30306. My parents were married September 8th, 1968. Interestingly they got married in Buchanan, Georgia in Haralson County

cert

cert2

Sorry for all the picks. So much data to insert.

So basically how could I describe mom to you. She was brought up in some very difficult times. Her Fathers name was Jesse Forrister and her mothers name was Puckett. She had brothers Stan, Steve Norbert and Georgia and a sister named Gloria. My mom told me about how her father came in from working at a saw mill one day and he was shaking uncontrollably from the cold. She promised as a little girl she would work so he wouldn’t have too. She grew up in Cedartown working at several mills and raising her daughters and son one of which was the Arrow Shirt Mill. I am not sure what brought her to Atlanta. Maybe the promise of work and maybe a new opportunity. At any rate she raised several children. She met my father and took up house painting as a trade. She eventually bought her own property in Euharlee at 112 Milam Bridge Road. Diabetes and a terrible back pain caused her a lot of grief not to mention a son who never really grew up. My dad passed on in 1993 from diabetes complications and pneumonia after his leg amputation. My mom passed several years later in 2007.

Sadly I did not keep the property up as well as I could have. I got married and sold the property later on. A move I have regretted ever since. My mom left me the only piece of property she owned and I could have left something for my daughter but that ship has sailed. I did get the opportunity to tell my mom I LOVE YOU before she passed. She is still holds a large part of my family memory. I still miss miss her.

 I LOVE YOU MOM

sorry I was not more responsible.

barry

Leave a Reply

