Arthur Harless Colbaugh and Lucille Edith McClain Colbaugh

Arthur Harless Colbaugh and Lucille Edith McClain Colbaugh

picture taken in 1918

Arthur Harless Colbaugh and Lucile Edith McClain Colbaugh are the Parents of Harless Ralph Colbaugh, Luther Baye Colbaugh, Earl Bo Colbaugh, Johhn Colbaugh, Doris, Colbaugh, Flossie Colbaugh and Catherine Colbaugh.

I can share the obituary of the two first lets focus on Arthur.

Arthur H COLBAUGH 24 Jul 1954 Classification: Obituary Surnames: COLBAUGH, DIMOS, YOUNG The Chattanooga Times; Chattanooga, TN; 24 Jul 1954, pg 9

Arthur H COLBAUGH, 66, of Chattanooga, TN Died Wednesday in Chattanooga Hospital Survivors: Wife Mrs Lucile COLBAUGH; 4 daughters Miss Jerry COLBAUGH, Mrs Nick DIMOS, Mrs Catherine YOUNG, Mrs Ruby Lee; 4 sons Luther, John, Ralph and Earl COLBAUGH Arrangements by R J Coulter Funeral Home

I don’t have the full details about Arthur burial but my dad had mentioned he was buried at TennGA cemetery on the Tennessee Georgia Line. Among the stories shared with my by my father and mother were first when Arthur passed his body was severely decomposed from remaining at the funeral home so long.

My fathers stories go like this first Arthur was was a short man. How short I don’t know but he was given a nickname by those who knew him as Shorty even before it became popular slang today. Arthur like my father was a house painter and undoubtedly taught my dad and his brothers the trade. I cant remember all the stories my dad had growing up but I saw one photo where my dad as a baby wore a dress. Living before the depression and with three other sisters meant the need for hand me downs was evident. One time the entire troop of Colbaugh’s were desperate for work and found a peculiar man offering a paint job. They began to work right away and the man reassured them that when the time was right they would get paid. That time never came as it was either the police or the insane asylum interns came to retrieve the man. My dad made reference to the Bonny Oaks school that was apparently an orphanage but also took care of the wayward.

Another story I was told was about a restaurant in Atlanta called the Cotton Patch. My dad and brothers secured a job there. Arthur went off searching for them and caught a ride with some one seeking the Cotton Patch. True to his word the driver dropped Arthur off at a cotton patch somewhere near Atlanta. During those times it was not uncommon to hitch a train ride or hobo without getting caught. Somehow Arthur made it to Atlanta and found his sons. Another story involved Arthur and his sons travelling together and Arthur carried a bulldog named Woofie. The bulldog as I understood was so  heavy it couldn’t walk. Worn our and unable to carry Woofie any longer, Arthur threw the dog down and it rolled down a hill into some woods. I dom’t knwo if all my dad’s stories were true but they were interesting.  Here is some more data I found.

Arthur

 

This is a registration card for Arthur at the age of 28 and he lived at 847 East 47th Street, East Lake, Tennessee. My dad took me there when I was younger. The card has Arthur’s date of birth as March 1st,  1889 In Chattanooga, Tennessee. He was a contract painter. He was single living with his sister and four children. One of those sisters I believe was named Alice. So Arthur met met Lucille some time later. My dad was born in Rossville, Georgia. East Lake is not far from Rossville. One other story I heard about Arthur while living in East Lake was he drove a Model T on to the frozen East Lake and it crashed through. Not sure if it is still there. I also heard there was an island in the middle of the lake and my father and brothers placed rabbits there. From the info we see Arthur may have avoided the draft during this time due to the fact he had family to care for. It card also reveals he was a medium build, stout with grey eyes and black hair. One more story my dad told about Arthur in his younger years was he worked for a meat market deliverind goods to people on bicycle. I will keep searching for data on Arthur to provide more detail.

Leave a Reply

