Lucille Edith McClain Colbaugh

Lucille McClain Colbaugh

This is the obituary for my grandmother Mrs Lucille, Edith McClain Colbaugh. She was born September 8th, 1898 in Walker County Lafayette, Georgia. Her father was John McClain, a lieutenant in the 3rd Tennessee Mounted Infantry and his picture is posted on the wall of the Rossville, Georgia Order of the Eastern Star Masonic Lodge. Below is his record.

John McClain

This record shows where he enlisted as a private and others show he enlisted at Maryville, Tennessee. Other details are ..

“John McClain- Private Company E 3rd Mounted Infantry Lillards, from Enlisted May 2nd 1861, Maryville under Captain McRamey for 1 year May 1 to December 31 1863 Present, June to August 1864 Present, Appears on a Roll of Prisoners of War, paroled at Vicksburg, Missippi, according to terms of capitulation entered into by the commanding Generals of the United States and Confederate Forces July 4th, 1863, Captured Vicksburg, Mississippi July 4, 1863, J. McClain Lieutenant Company 3, 3rd Tennessee Cavalry appears on a receipt roll for clothing September 20th, 1864 ligature John McClain”

This made Lucille his youngest daughter what is known today as a Real Daughter of a Confederate Veteran just one generation away. This post is more about my grandmother. My earliest memory of here is my parents would go and play BINGO at the Veterans of Foreign Wars Hall. Sometimes I spent an entire weekend with her when my parents had a paint job. On occasion my two cousins Melissa and Lucy, (Luther’s children) would visit and it was all my grandmother could do to keep us entertained. At one time Lucille lived off East Borne Drive in Jonesboro and then she moved to the Tara Boulevard Apartments and she lived there for several years. The apartments was where I visited her but it was not a very safe place. The Jehovah’s Witnesses would come by an pay her a visit a lot to share Watchtower magazines and to talk. My grandmother enjoyed their company. My grandmother at the time had her son Johnny living with her. I will share more about him later. She was a frail woman, short and she had a hump on her back which looked painful but she never complained of it. At the time she liked Burton Snuff and dipped it by the spoonful. I remember she had several of these multicolored snuff glasses used for drinking. Johnny slept up stairs in the apartment and my grandmother slept on the ground floor where it was easier to get around.

My grandmother would encourage me to eat butter beans saying butterflies would follow me if I did. She had some many stories like Big Clod and Little Clod. Of course they were from Tennessee where all her stories came from. Most of the stories went like this. Big Clod picked on Little Clod a lot as they were brothers. One day Little Clod had accidentally cut off his grandmas head. ( Somehow my grandmother knew this appealed to me) Little Clod knew his brother would be angry so he cleaned grandma up and placed her head back on with a ribbon tied around her neck. Little Clod placed grandma in a buggy and took her to the store to get some pork and beans. Big Clod showed up, rummaged through the buggy and opened the pork and beans and suddenly became very angry as there was no pork inside. He confronted Little Clod, who knew Big Clod would take his anger our on him. Big Clod shouted at his grandma and of course she did not respond. This only made Big Clod enraged. Little Clod asked his grandmother to speak up. She still did not respond. Big Clod let go of his rage and punched grandma knocking her head clear off. Big Clod ran away in fear of what he had done and never returned to bother Little Clod again. She told more girlish stories to Lucy and Melissa. She left the good stuff for me.

My grandmother passed away with cancer. I did not notice she was sick until she was moved from Jonesboro to Rome so that Catherine and Doris could keep a better eye on her. Johnny had passed away with tuberculosis. She had no one to watch here. The apartments were not without troubles. My grandmother cut coupons from a sale paper that actually liked like money. A stranger appeared at the door posing as a salesman. my grandmother left the door cracked a bit and then left to another room. She came back to find her purse was gone and went to the door. She saw the man as he ran away grabbing the fake bills in confusion and eventually threw the purse down. She laughed at her ruse. I knew my grandmother must have had social security or some disability payment. Her daughters decision to move her to Rome for safe keeping did not bode well for my grandmother. She lived in Jonesboro for so long she became attached to it. I believed my grandmother would have lived forever but life in Rome was too much for her. She slipped away.

Leave a Reply

