Harless Ralph Colbaugh

dad

 

Lets start with a little of my own genealogy. First let me share about my name Colbaugh. I found its an Americanized name of Kalbach and the meaning “Kol” is German for brook or stream and “baugh/bach” means poor or shabby farmer. So essentially I have lived up to my family name. Barry Lynn Colbaugh was born June 14th, 1969 at Grady memorial Hospital in Atlanta, Georgia.

My fathers name was Harless Ralph Colbaugh Birth: 1922 Death: 1993
Mr. Colbaugh was a WWII veteran, and was the husband of Evelynn Lou Forrester Colbaugh. Burial:
Rolling Hills Memory Gardens Cemetery Oak Grove (Cherokee County) Cherokee County Georgia, USA
http://www.findagrave.com/cgi-bin/fg.cgi?p…d=63559365&

My father was a house painter by trade. When he served in the military he served stateside. He told me stories about Fort Orr California. Like me my father had diabetes and like me had his leg amputated. Unfortunately my dads amputation and resulting pneumonia led to his death. He died in Dekalb County at the Veterans Hospital off Clairmont.

Harless R Colbaugh M W 09 Dec 1993 DeKalb 71 years 052227 Bartow

At the time we lived in Euharlee, Georgia at 112 Milam Bridge Road. At first we lived in a small 2 bedroom house which was really four big rooms. One year a storm came and twisted a large oak tree in the front yard that sent the tree crashing down and almost crushing me. Luckily the tree landed on the ridge of the house and did not fall on my mother. We later got a mobile home and placed it behind the original house. We had a lot of help from friends and neighbors to get power and plumbing hooked up. That was a trying time for us. My dad had passed away some time before that.

Here is my fathers military record.

Harless R Colbaugh Birth Year: 1922

Race: White, citizen (White)

Nativity State or Country: Georgia

State of Residence: Tennessee C

ounty or City: Hamilton E

nlistment Date: 17 Nov 1942

Enlistment State: Georgia Enlistment City:

Fort Oglethorpe Branch:

Branch Immaterial – Warrant Officers, USA Branch Code:

Branch Immaterial – Warrant Officers, USA

Grade: Private Grade Code: Private

Term of Enlistment: Enlistment for the duration of the War or other emergency, plus six months, subject to the discretion of the President or otherwise according to law Component: Selectees (Enlisted Men)

Source: Civil Life

Education: 2 years of high school Civil Occupation:

Semiskilled painters, construction and maintenance

Marital Status: Single, without dependents

Height: 64

Weight: 106

I used to have a phone listing of my parents residence when they met in Atlanta living in an apartment off Ponce De  Leon Avenue. The details on how they met were sketchy but my father lived with his brothers Earl, Johnny and Luther. From the stories I remember my dad kept some used vehicles working where they could. My mom Evelyn and her two daughters Janice and Joan lived in the apartment too. One thing led to another and some time later my parents married in Buchanan, Georgia and I was born on June 14th 1969 at Grady Memorial Hospital. I will share more about my mom in another post.

Later my father moved to Jonesboro, Georgia in a slab house-cement floor where I grew up at 8816 East Borne Drive.  It was at this house where I first learned to walk. My parents were worried because I would not walk and were concerned something was wrong. Sitting on the cold slab floor I decided to get up and move and toddled off ever since. My dad and my mom took up house painting together. My Grandmother along with Earl and Johnny moved down the street in Jonesboro not far away from dad. Later we moved from Jonesboro to Alpharetta after baying a mobile home and living in Rolling Woods/Shadowlawn and  seven years later moved to Acworth at Payne Mobile Home Park and finally their own property at 112 Milam Bridge Road.

So how could I describe my father to you. He was short or shorter than me and I was about 5′ 9″. He had black hair that slowly turned black and gray and had a receding hairline. He and his brothers some more than others had a lazy eye. A muscle would get weak and the left eye would drift to the left as If he was looking away. I am not sure what it was like for him but for those talking to him it may have been confusing. My dad had a bizarre since of humor a gift he passed to me. He did have an ability to talk with almost anyone. As a house painter he had to have a gift of gab to get work. He had the ability to stand on a ladder all day. They said he had ladder legs, dibbits in his legs, that allowed him to stand on ladders all day. As a house painter my mom did the low work and my father did the ladder work. As I grew older I would help paint doing some of the low work and my mom did more ladder work.

My father was a house painter, his brothers were house painters, my grandfather, their father was a house painter. Suffice it to say… I hate paint and went to work for the power company.

I will share more later.

Leave a Reply

